NZICT group elects new board, votes unanimously for name change

At its AGM last night, the NZICT group elected its 2013-2014 board and voted in favour of a name change for the organisation.

NZICT (now New Zealand Technology Industry Association) founding members at the group's 2013 AGM.

NZICT (now New Zealand Technology Industry Association) founding members at the group's 2013 AGM.

At its annual general meeting in Auckland last night, the NZICT (New Zealand Information & Communication Technology) group elected its 2013-2014 board. The organisation also voted in favour of a name change, and is set to re-brand from 'NZICT group' to 'New Zealand Technology Industry Association'.

Board members include:

Corporate Tier One

• Gavin Greaves, Country Manager NZ - Enterprise Services at HP • Rob Lee, Managing Director at IBM New Zealand • Thomas Duffy, Chief Operating Officer at Fuji Xerox NZ

• Paul Muckleston, Managing Director of Microsoft NZ (returning)

Corporate (Other Tiers)

• Bennett Medary, Chair of Simpl

• Ian Clarke, CEO of Fronde (returning)

Business Group

• Steven Newman, CEO of EROAD Limited

• Bob Pinchin, CEO of Swaytech (returning)

Government/Education Group

• John Ferguson, Customer Manager at NZTE

• John Wadsworth, Dean Faculty of Business, Manukau Institute of Technology (returning)

Also at the group's AGM, NZICT members were asked to vote on a rule amendment to change the organisation's name to 'New Zealand Technology Industry Association'. The resolution passed unanimously, and the change is now underway. The domain is now active, pointing to the existing website under the domain. The Association will be “migrating [its] Twitter handle soon”.

New Zealand Technology Industry Association CEO Candace Kinser told Computerworld the association will run a competition for design students from its member education institutes, to design a new logo to a specified colour palette. Those institutes include ACE Training, the University of Auckland, High Tech Youth Network, Manukau Institute of Technology, New Zealand School of Education, Otago Innovation, Techtorium, Unitec, Victoria University and Youbee School of Design. A shortlist of the submitted designs will be put to a member vote.

IDG Communications Pty Ltd, which publishes Computerworld New Zealand, is a member of the New Zealand Technology Industry Association.

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.


More about FujiFuji Xerox AustraliaHPIBM AustraliaIDGIDG CommunicationsIDG CommunicationsIDG CommunicationsMicrosoftNewmanTechnologyVictoria UniversityVictoria UniversityXerox

Show Comments